11:50pm. Àtùpà (Lantern)

I am the light, I cloak you from darkness
I see you, I feel your worries
I enlighten your heart;
Sure you don’t get lost in the dark
And this I think, light your path.

Few hours ago,
Before the night beckoned on your soul,
I found you, sun has not ducked fully on the meadows.
I told twilight that moonlight would not be bright enough
To walk your lonely self in the dark.

So I make sacrifice to burn all night for you,
Whilst I wish a candle could burn for me alone.
I don’t trust the moonlight to keep you safe
But I trust in my flames, it will keep you warm.

I illuminate your way while in need of illumination,
For I am your ATUPA. I assure you,
You will always survive darkness under my flames…

®Jaiye_Taiwo with Fisayo (Natur’s Quill)

Date: Tuesday 9th of July 2019.